Seward County Clerk

Official:  Sherry Schweitzer
Phone:  (402) 643-2883
Location:  Courthouse - Room 205
Hours:   8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Nebraska Deeds 

Election Precincts

2022 Election Information
(Please call 402-643-2883 with questions!)



      PRIMARY                                                      GENERAL
Incumbent:  January 5 – February 15                       January 15 – July 15
Non-Incumbent: January 5 – March 1                    January 5 – August 1



*Information May Change Depending on Census Redistricting



*U.S. House of Representatives (Congress) District 1




Secretary of State

Attorney General

State Treasurer

Auditor of Public Accounts

*Legislature 24th District

*Public Service Commission District 4

*State Board of Education District 5

*SCC District 1 Rep

Upper Big Blue NRD Subdistricts 1-8 and At Large Director

*Lower Platte South NRD – Subdistrict 1 and At Large Director

*Norris Public Power District - District 13 (Precincts B,C,E,K,M-BX,M-CO are in Dist 13)

*Polk Public Power District (a portion of D Precinct)  (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

*Perennial Public Power Dist (a portion of Precinct E)  (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

*ESU #2 (Raymond Central School District) (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

*ESU #6 Dist 1(Centennial, Milford, Malcolm School Dist.) (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

*ESU #6 Dist 3(Exeter-Milligan, Friend, Dorchester School) (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Warren Memorial Hospital Dist – 2 members (PRIMARY ELECTION ONLY)



County Assessor

County Attorney

County Clerk

Clerk of the District Court




*Commissioner Dist 1 (Precincts J, N, O, including the City of Milford)

*Commissioner Dist 3 (Precincts C, D, E, F, K, L, M)

*Commissioner Dist 5 (City of Seward Wards 1 & 2)


Seward Mayor

Seward City Council Wards 1, 2, 3 and 4

Seward Airport Authority

Milford City Council Wards 1 and 2




Village of Beaver Crossing – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Bee – 3 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Garland – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Goehner – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Cordova – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Pleasant Dale – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Staplehurst – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)

Village of Utica – 2 members (GENERAL ELECTION ONLY)




Centennial School Board – 3 members

Milford School Board – 3 members

Seward School Board – 3 members


Functions of the Clerk's Office


The Seward County Clerk’s Office has a wide variety of duties. Marriage licenses are issued in our office as are tobacco licenses and liquor licenses. The Clerk’s Office also pays all the bills for the County. The County Clerk is the Secretary to the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners oversee the operations of the County and adopts the final budget.


Seward County’s population is 16,100 and because of this size, the County Clerk’s Office is also the Register of Deeds and Election Commissioner. The Register of Deeds Office contains all land records for Seward County. If you purchase a home or business, the deed and any related papers are filed in our office. The Election Commissioner handles all candidate filings and prepares and conducts all elections for Seward County. In counties with a larger population, these offices are separate from the County Clerk’s Office.


Fee Schedule


Applications, Forms & Certificates


  • Voter Registration Form

    • This form needs to be printed out if you are a Seward County resident and wish to register to vote. The address to mail the voter registration form to is: Seward County Clerk, P.O. Box 190, Seward, NE 68434. The form can also be brought in personally to the office. There are deadlines to register to vote as an election nears. For information call 402-643-2883.

  • Early Voting (Absentee) Application Form

    • Applications may be returned to the Seward County Clerk’s Office.

  • Nebraska-Born Birth Certificate

  • Property Valuation Protest Form

    • A protest must be filed on or before June 30th.  If the 30th falls on a weekend, filings will be accepted on the Monday following the 30th.  Submissions should be sent to: Seward County Clerk , P.O. Box 190 , Seward, NE 68434 . If you have any questions, call the County Clerk ’s Office at 402-643-2883.

  • Marriage Form

  • Marriage Certificate

  • Death Certificate

    • To obtain a copy of a Birth or Death Certificate, please visit Health Records Management section at 301 Centennial Mall S., Lincoln, NE 68508

  • Project Proposal Form


Contact Information


Brandy Johnson- Deputy County Clerk


Tracy Phillips- Deputy Election Clerk

Shelly Doty- Administrative Clerk II