County Officials Graduate from Leadership Program

December 18, 2017

News Release

Nebraska Extension

For Immediate Release



County Officials Graduate from Leadership Program


KEARNEY, NE. — Nineteen county officials from 14 counties received Certificates of Achievement for their participation in the Nebraska Association County Officials (NACO) Institute of Excellence. The Institute of Excellence is collaboration between NACO and the University of Nebraska. It provides leadership development for elected, appointed county officials and tangential officials.


The officials were honored during a presentation at NACO’s annual conference in Kearney, Wednesday, December 13th. Seward County Commissioner, John Culver and Kathy Ruzicka, Seward County Aging Services Program Manager were awarded certificates by Nebraska Extension District Director, Dr. Kelly Bruns and NACO President and Holt County Commissioner, William Tielke.

The Institute includes face-to-face workshops in North Platte and Lincoln, however, the 2017 class met in Grand Island. The face-to-face sessions were taught by faculty from Nebraska Extension, the UNL Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication and the UNO Centers for Public Affairs Research, as well as Larry Dix, NACO’s Executive Director.


According to the program’s co-coordinator, Nebraska Extension Educator, Carroll Welte, “the Institute provides county officials an opportunity to learn more about themselves as leaders to better serve their counties and constituencies.”


Since 2010 the Institutes of Excellence have been open to all county officials. Information materials for the 2018 program will be on the Nebraska Association of County Officials website, For more information about Nebraska Extension leadership programs, contact extension educator, Carroll Welte at or 402.374.2954 or Jessica Jones at or 402.335.3669.



Carroll Welte

Nebraska Extension Educator, Burt County, Tekamah, NE

Phone: (402)374-2954



Jessica Jones

Nebraska Extension Educator, Johnson County

Phone:  402-335-3669




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Recent Posts

December 22, 2017

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Court House

 529 Seward St

Seward, NE 68434

Justice Center

 261 S 8th Street

Seward, NE 68434

West Wing

 322 S 14th

Seward, NE 68434

© 2017 by  Seward County, Nebraska